FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A101) Tuesday, January 24, 2017 3:00 p.m.

Dr. Dwedor Ford, President Presiding

Senate Members Present: Phoebe Ajibade, Obasi Akan, Geleana Alston, Emily Burch, Barbara Butler, Sherrie Cannoy, Temeka Carter, Sungjin Cho, Robert Cobb, Jr., Angel Dowden, Albert Esterline, Bonnie Fields, Dwedor Ford, Tony Graham, Gwendolyn Highsmith-Quick, Elizabeth Hopfer, Abebe Kebede, Luba Kurkalova, Gary Lebby, Anna Lee, Robert Li, Zhichao Li, Deanna McQuitty, Ahmed Megri, Mahour Mellat-Parast, Gregory Meyerson, Elimelda Ongeri, Thomas Redd, Octavious Spruill, David Tidwell, Li-Shiang Tsay, Shengbin Wang, Jenora Waterman.

Departments Not Represented: Agribusiness, Applied Economics and Agriscience Education; Natural Resources and Environmental Design; Chemical, Biological and Bioengineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Mechanical Engineering; Social Work and Sociology; History; Political Science and Criminal Justice; Chemistry; Energy and Environmental Systems; Graduate College.

The meeting was called to order by President Dwedor Ford.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

It was properly moved and seconded to approve the November 22, 2016 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes. The motion carried.

Senate Welcome Dr. Dwedor Ford

Dr. Ford extended greetings and thanked everyone for their presence. Dr. Ford acknowledged the presence and extended thanks to the guest presenters for today's meeting: Mr. Tom Jackson, Interim Vice Chancellor of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer; and Dr. Ericka Smith, Vice Chancellor for Human Resources.

The following presentations were made:

Information Technology Report

Mr. Tom Jackson

Mr. Jackson gave a PowerPoint presentation on (1) Technology Strategy and (2) Fixed Tuition. He highlighted Fiscal Year 2017 priorities. Technology Strategy included governance, information on Banner and ancillary software, recruitment and student success, network security initiatives and efficiency; i.e., AggiePrint, document imaging initiatives, eProcurement, identify management, interface reserve, Kronos, Banner Interface and R25/25 Live. (2) Fixed Tuition included information on the UNC Mandate and Mandated upgrades, i.e. Fixed Tuition, HR Data

Mart, Student Data Mart, Uniform Residency, UNCOnline, UNC Web, Banner Document Management, Banner XE; Oracle 12c and WebFOCUS. Additionally, Mr. Jackson highlighted information on the Call Center Assessment, and Enrollment Management Data Mart.

After some discussion, Mr. Jackson stated he will follow-up with senators on the following action items: (1) list of software installed in various labs, (2) notification to faculty of survey to be sent to chairs regarding classroom technology; (3) an improved process for managing software installations in labs that ITS manages. With respect to concerns about a) outstanding tickets, they should be routed to Dave Weaver (weaverd@ncat.edu) b) outstanding questions and concerns should be routed for tracking to Sheila Allen (siglen@ncat.edu).

Faculty/Staff of the Future Model

Dr. Ericka Smith

Dr. Smith provided a PowerPoint presentation on the Faculty & Staff of the Future Model. She discussed the Model's structure and plans. Faculty & Staff of the Future addresses the requirements to achieve Preeminence 2020 and beyond. It is the planning, developing, and operationalizing of priorities set forth by the institution to continue to represent excellence in student, faculty and staff preparation through engagement and exceptional experiences. Dr. Smith's discussion focused of three areas; namely, recruitment and retention (New), professional development and efficiency (Existing) and collaboration innovation and engagement (All Inclusive). Dr. Smith stated that the Model is about creating a culture which includes employees who are currently employed at the University. She explained the classification for non-tenure track faculty – rank designations and track status. Following questions from senate floor, Dr. Smith noted that tenure track faculty would not be affected by the model. A timeline for model implementation was shared with the senate.

Committee Reports

New Programs and Curricula Committee

The New Programs and Curricula Committee brought to the Senate floor four action items; namely, one proposed new graduate course and one proposed graduate curriculum guide submitted by the Department of Nanoengineering; one proposed concentration name change from the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; and two proposed revised curriculum forms. Action on these items was postponed due to lack of quorum at the time the New Programs and Curricula Committee report was presented.

Senators were reminded by President Ford that electronic proposal packets are posted on the Faculty Senate Blackboard site by the New Programs and Curricula Committee. Proposal packets should be reviewed prior to the regularly scheduled monthly senate meeting.

Educational Policy Committee (Narrative Submission)

Dr. Angel Dowden

This year members of the Educational Policy committee decided that the goal would be to take a closer look at the C or better policy. The committee's overarching goal: To work with the Faculty Senate and University Administration to move toward university policy related to C or better for undergraduate prerequisite courses. To meet this goal, the committee plans to collect information from departments across campus related to the C or better policy and use that

information to develop a statement to present to the Faculty Senate to move forward to university administration.

The committee met twice this year. The last meeting was January 18, 2017. Tentatively, the committee has set the following meeting dates for the remainder of the semester: February 1, March 1, and April 5.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: February 28, 2017 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Nina R. Ingram Recorder